Well, just yesterday I waned to try somthing out…

As some already know (or not) I am in med school, and one of the things we do thats pretty much against what every doctor advice is not sleep properly at all, somtimes staying up late and having little to no sleep whatsoever… and you tend to go a little nuts with this and you start doing crazy things to stay awake… drinking energy drink, tons of coffee etc…

So, yesterday I was feeling tired and sleepy and thought “why not try somthing that might help me out for the rest of the day?”… so what I did was combine aspirin and caffeine in, well, not excess but in kinda high quantities… We have here (in Mexico, not sure other places) a type of aspirin that’s called “Cafiaspirina” or caffeinated-aspirin, which has 650mg of Acetylsalycilic Acid (aspirin) and 65mg of Caffeine in each tablet… so I took 2 (the max recommended) with a Mokachino coffee drink that was pretty cold… and i did that at around 4pm…

The science behind this is that the caffeine makes your heart rate go up (your heart beats much faster) and the aspirin reduces the size of red blood cells (the ones that carry your oxygen throughout your entire body). So, the caffeine speeds up the blood flow, thus making the absorption of the aspirin MUCH faster and the pain is reduced much quicker… and this also makes you stay pretty much awake since your blood flows with more ease throughout your brain and thus making you stay more alert.

However, the side effects of this went weird for me since I combined too much caffeine to this, and so all i felt was anxiety, dizziness, and a headache… and to top it all off, I didn’t even sleep yesterday!!! Went to bed about 11pm and tried to sleep, saw the clock at 12:23am and then I woke up at 01:00am today, thinking it was already 2am… my brother even said “You only slept 2 hours? Are you nuts?” and I think I was… never told them at all about the experiment.

So right now, it is 3:30am as I’m writing this out, and don’t feel sleepy or tired or anything like that, I do however feel a little lightheaded, but that should go away soon… and no, I won’t try it today, but I’m also hoping i don’t crash out in class or during my entire day, so i need to last till about 8pm at least… i even made a small little log where i wrote the time and how i felt at such timee during the experiment… I don’t know if I’ll try that again, but if I do, it will only be 1 tablet and water, no coffee this time… but that will happen when I really need to be VERY awake, so don’t worry, won’t be trying that out till waaaaaay later…

=P

